Throwback Thursday

Nineteen Eighty Two.

The year I was born. Thirty-two years ago. Which is unbelievable. I cannot believe I’m going to be 32 in November. I feel like just yesterday I was a fresh faced teenager; recent high school graduate; ready to take over the world. In reality? That was 13 years ago. My husband and I have been together for 10 years. I can’t even wrap my head around all of that. Either way. Today we’re talking about baby Carrie and the year she was born.

Baby Carrie. 1 day old.

Baby Carrie. 1 day old.

What a cute baby I was.

I was born on the Saturday after Thanksgiving which would lead to a lifetime of Thanksgiving weekend birthdays. This year for instance? My birthday IS Thanksgiving. So that’s awesome. (so was my 21st, for the record, that wasn’t all that awesome).

Ironically, Cold Sunday happened. Which plunged temperatures across much of the United States far below existing all-time record lows. So let’s hope that this year’s super cold front won’t happen again for a really long time (disclosure: I have no idea if it’s happened since then but I’m going with no so I can pretend it only happens once every 30 or so years)

Anyway. 1982. What was life like 32 years ago? Well let’s find out.

  • Ronald Reagan was President
  • San Francisco won the Super Bowl
  • St. Louis won the World Series
  • The Islanders won the Stanley Cup
  • The Lakers won the NBA Championship
  • The Commodore 64 8-bit home computer was launched.
  • The World’s Fair was in Knoxville, TN.
  • The Falklands War happened.
  • Cal Ripken, Jr. plays the first game of his streak of 2,632 consecutive games
  • The World Cup was in Spain that year. (Italy beat West Germany)
  • The first CDs are released to the public (in Germany) & Sony released the first CD player.
  • The first emoticons are posted.
  • Disney opens Epcot.
  • The Vietnam Veterans Memorial was dedicated in DC.
  • Michael Jackson releases Thriller.
  • The first U.S. execution by lethal injection is carried out in Texas.

Some famous births (besides mine, obviously).

  • Catherine & William, Duke and  Duchess of Cambridge
  • Jodie Sweetin
  • Cobie Smulders
  • Seth Rogen
  • Kirsten Dunst
  • Anne Hathaway

And there you have it. There’s a little bit of 1982.

 

Allieology
Leave a Reply

