I’m still here.

These last two weeks have been pretty crazy. Both at work and at home. But sometimes when work is crazy busy it spills over in to home time and home time has been equally as busy so it’s been a struggle to juggle it all (and no I did not rhyme that on purpose. I promise).

Now that the blog every day in July link-up is over I’ll be back with some more random content about every day life.

For now, here’s an update of what’s been going on the last week or so…

At the beginning of last week I watched our neighbors daughter for a couple hours while she was stuck at the urgent care with her husband. I discovered that I can, in fact, function as the caregiver of 2 children. I made dinner, we ate, we played a little, Sydney was jealous that I was holding another baby so she did a lot of climbing on me while I was holding Lexi, and then the two of them cried at each other (when one would cry the other would cry – it was like a horrible game). But I definitely got a (very, very small) taste of what it’s going to be with more than 1 child so that’s good to know (not that there are any other children coming in to our home at this moment but hopefully there will be one day in the future).

Sydney & Lexi

Sydney & Lexi

The rest of our week went pretty smoothy and there were no other tiny visitors at home. Steve was gone so we did a lot of playing at the park where home girl learned that she could do this…

Fearless.

Fearless.

So that’s awesome. There is quite a bit of a gap between that thing she is on and the actual playground structure so I can see where that could potentially be interesting. She is fearless and I’m not entirely sure how I feel about that.

Friday we went downtown with our neighbors for dinner and then we walked around the outdoor mall. It was a gorgeous evening to be outside so we took our time and came home a little later than bed time (for the tot) but it was worth it for such a relaxed evening (I needed it… and the sangria I had with dinner!)

Splash pad

Splash pad

This lover of baths and all things water wanted NOTHING to do with the splash pad. I wasn’t particularly prepared for her to be soaking wet but this was right before we headed home for bath and bed so it wouldn’t have been a huge deal. I think we’ll try it again (because there were a lot of “ooohhhhs” until we got close to it) but I’m not going to push it because she’ll either like it or she won’t.

Speaking of loving bodies of water… we went to my Aunts this weekend for some family time – which was great and wonderful – and Sydney got a bit of pool time with her Daddy. At first she was hesitant but after she warmed up to it she was in love! I think I should stop hesitating on those swim classes and just get her signed up…

Weee!!!

Weee!!!

While we were at my Aunts she dug up this old photo of me… and then as if we had asked her to (we didn’t) Sydney basically re-created it for us so we could get a picture of what can only be described as my tiny twin.

1984 and 2014. Same age. Same face. Same weird habit of taking cushions off chairs.

1984 and 2014. Same age. Same face. Same weird habit of taking cushions off chairs.

We spent some time walking the suddenly most patient puppy ever…

They will love each other. For real.

They will love each other. For real.

And then Saturday night Steve was feeling ill so he went to urgent care… ended up at the ER and then ended up at his moms house. We spent the better part of this week hanging out at the In-laws house while we figure out what’s up with him. We’re hoping it’s nothing too major, but it could be. Overall we’re optimistic (it isn’t life threatening or anything, but could potentially require surgery… common surgery so we’re not like really worried about his health but surgery isn’t a joke or anything so there’s that).

But a certain little girl has had plenty of time to spend with her Aunts and she has been in heaven!

Auntie love.

Auntie love.

And there you have it. That’s been our last week or so. It’s been hectic and crazy and life.

Here’s hoping this weekend settles down and I can get some good old fashioned ME time in!

One thought on “I’m still here.

  1. Even if it’s common surgery, I will keep Steve in my prayers! I LOVE the picture of Sydney and the dog, that is so adorable.

Leave a Reply

