Tasty Tuesday: Salsa!

I love a good salsa, don’t you? Especially a fresh version of salsa. I will buy salsa that someone else has prepared but there is just something about a good, fresh salsa that hits the spot sometimes. I had a couple of tomatoes that were going bad this summer and decided to make some salsa. After some quick googling I stumbled upon this recipe The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa and determined that I had everything I needed to make it so I did just that. I adapted the recipe a bit to fit my needs so these ingredients and directions are mine but you can find the original version in that link up there.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Ingredients

3-4 tomatoes

1 onion

1 green pepper

1 jalapeno

some cilantro (fresh is best!)

(roughly) 2 TBSP Lime juice

1/2  tsp cumin

Some salt

Some pepper

 

Directions

Dice up tomatoes, onion, green pepper, and jalapeno and combine in bowl.
(I diced up the tomatoes first and then gauged the amount of onion and green pepper needed based on how much tomato I had… I always used the entire jalapeno). 

Chop up some cilantro.
(I feel like cilantro is a taste that not everyone has – so use your judgment based on your tastes – if you love it, add more… if you hate it, add less).

Add lime juice

Add cumin

salt and pepper to taste

mix

Serve cold.

YUM!

YUM!

Results.

This was a hit at the couple parties we attended and with the neighbors when we stuffed our faces full of it one afternoon. It’s really quick and easy to make with delicious results. This salsa hasn’t been a stranger to our house this summer.

Leave a Reply

