Tasty Tuesday: Vanilla Cupcakes

I’m not a huge vanilla fan. I think it’s the most boring flavor ever and I’ve always been chocolate for life!

BUT. I made these cupcakes and they were definitely not a typical boring vanilla flavor. I had offered to make some cupcakes for a special family event a few weeks ago and instead of making regular box cupcakes I decided that I would just make cupcakes and icing from scratch. Because I like to bake and I had the time. I was looking for a really good cupcake recipe because I had to make vanilla so I knew that they had to be really delicious to be a huge hit with the crowd. They were both delicious and a hit!

I’m lucky enough to live close to the wonderful Georgetown Cupcake (from the show DC Cupcakes) so when I stumbled upon this recipe from Get Sweet Smart I knew I had to give it a try.

Vanilla Bean Cupcakes

Vanilla Bean Cupcake

I made the Get Sweet Smart recipe exactly, with the exception of the vanilla bean because I couldn’t find it and adding pink food coloring to the icing because of the occasion.

The recipe is hers, the pictures are mine (hers are better, but I don’t steal photos). If you love this recipe (& you will) I encourage you to head over there and let her know.

(and no she has no idea I’ve made these, am posting about her wonderful recipe, or am sending you over to her to give her love…I’m doing it because it’s the right thing to do).

Cupcake ingredients

Cupcake ingredients

2 1/2 c. flour

2 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

8 tbsp butter, room temperature

1 3/4 c. sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

2 1/4 tsp. vanilla

seeds from 1 vanilla bean (I omitted)

1 1/4 c. milk, room temperature

Icing ingredients

Icing ingredients

5 1/2 tbsp butter

5 1/2 c. powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

8oz low fat cream cheese

Directions

CUPCAKES: Preheat oven to 350; line cupcake pans with wrappers

In a small bowl sift flower, baking powder, and salt together

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar together for 3-5 minutes

Slowly add eggs one at a time until combined

Add vanilla and vanilla bean seeds to milk

Add 1/3 of dry ingredients to the egg/butter mixture and beat with stand mixer until well combined.

Add 1/3 of milk and mix thoroughly.

Repeat with remaining dry / wet ingredients.

Pour batter into prepared pans and bake for 16 to 18 minutes

FROSTING: In bowl of stand mixer, with paddle attachment, beat all ingredients on high speed until light and fluffy (aprox. 3 minutes).

Frosted cupcakes

Frosted cupcakes

They tasted AMAZING. And that’s saying a lot for someone that will pass up vanilla cake.

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Vanilla Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

