My little helper.

There were a lot of reasons I was simply thrilled to be having a little girl. I envisioned dress up parties, tea parties, playing with dolls, and just girly stuff in general. I also was excited at the possibility of having a little friend turn in to an adult friend. I consider my mother my friend and I’m hoping that one day Sydney considers me her friend too.

Also? I was thrilled at the potential little chore do-er and house cleaner. Yeah ok that sounds mean but I grew up doing chores (for allowance) and I think it helped me to (a) learn to EARN money (b) learn to save money and (c) it also taught me to take pride in what I did. Both of my parents worked full time and at some point my brother and I started staying home by ourselves over the summer and my mom gave us a chore list. We BOTH had chores around the house. Typically, we just split the list and got everything done in one day so we weren’t wasting precious pool time cleaning the house but we BOTH cleaned the house. I don’t see anything wrong with that. And I’m sure my mom didn’t mind it either. I also remember doing a lot more over the weekend those summers and I now suspect it is because my mom had much more free time to actually be with us instead of cleaning up after us. I also learned how to keep my room much cleaner than I had previously kept it because keeping my living space picked up made for a much easier day of cleaning.

Fast forward to adult hood and I still clean my own house (we don’t have a cleaning lady and I don’t intend on having one because I don’t believe that I want to spend my money to hire someone to do something I’m perfectly capable of doing myself). Some weeks we are much better at picking up around the house than others. Some weeks it takes a long time to clean because we’ve been gone or just extremely messy. It happens. I try not to dwell on it but I always vow to do better. And then there is, of course, my hoarding problem. Which is getting better at a very slow pace. I’ll get there. Eventually.

I think I’m currently Sydney’s “person” because she seems to be copying me more than she copies anyone else (in the way that toddlers mimic behavior). She is so very much me it is both hilarious and also not at all funny (hello stubbornness coming back to bite me in the behind). Since I do my own house cleaning she sees me do that a lot and she LOVES being my little helper. I was actually looking back on some old photos and I realized I have quite a few of her helping me do random, every day things.

When Sydney was little and she wanted to be on the move but wasn’t walking we loaded her in to this walker and she LOVED it. One day she also discovered that she could “help” unload the dishwasher.

10 months.

10 months.

She could barely reach the dishes then so she wasn’t really helping. But now? She actually helps. And she gets annoyed if I start without her. It’s definitely a slow process with her help, but I really do enjoy having her help me. The only thing I have to be careful of is that I’m going as fast as her or she will lick the dishes (why? I have no idea… and yes, I do remove the silverware tray before I actually let her help because knives are bad).

19 months.

19 months.

Somewhere along the way she really decided she liked cleaning up messes. Or wiping things (now it’s her face, the table, her hands, the floor… if there’s a mess that needs to be wiped she needs to do it). Here we are cleaning up something (or nothing) from the kitchen floor.

15 months.

15 months.

And here we’re playing with the swiffer and getting SUPER pissed that the handle keeps banging on the island, wall, and table. But she kept on at it. After this I did find a short broom that I had forgotten I had in the basement (hoarding for the win) so she will sometimes sweep up the floor with me while I’m cleaning the floors (sometimes though she does chase Buddy so she frequently loses her broom privileges).

17 months.

17 months.

At my MILs she has her own (empty) cleaning bottle for when the cleaning people come because she likes to help them with their dusting but then they can’t actually get cleaning done so she just follows behind them now cleaning on her own. It’s adorable and they love her. I think Wednesday is her favorite day because that’s when they come “to play.”

20 months.

20 months.

Sydney also likes to help with laundry. Mostly she just takes all the clothes out of the basket and hands them to me before I’ve even had a chance to fold the previous article of clothing. Sometimes she will even help me go through her clothes or put them away. I am using help extremely loosely here.

14 months.

14 months.

And if I’m extra lucky she’ll give me a head start on emptying out her drawers so I can put away the too small clothes ::sniffle sniffle::

23 months.

23 months.

This particular weekend she was being EXTRA helpful and decided that not only did I need to go through her clothes but I should also take the time to go through my closet… starting with my shoes.

23 months.

23 months.

She graciously threw all of my “neatly” organized shoes out of their “neat” pile and on to the floor in one big heap. It did force me to sit down and go through them – I’d been saying all weekend that since we had nothing to do I was going to go through her clothes and mine. Thankfully she can’t reach my hanging clothes because I really wasn’t interested in going through my clothes at this time but it did feel like of good to purge some shoes and re-organize them since the seasons are changing and I don’t need my sandals anymore ::sniffle sniffle::

 

 

 

I’m trying to find myself here in this blog and I figured what better way to find myself and to share my story than to actually share a story about something random rather than this activity or that activity. I don’t want my posts to feel forced and this doesn’t feel that way to me. I’m hoping to ebb and flow this blog between the various activities we do that make for “duh” posts, to random slices of our lives, to recipes, to whatever else I can come up with to share my story and connect my story to yours. 

One thought on “My little helper.

  1. Pingback: Sydney Grace. Thirteen to Eighteen Months. | baybee sugar

Leave a Reply

