Oh Hey Friday.

Oh Friday you are my favorite day of the week. Lately my weeks have felt very long and our weekends have been very busy so I’m hoping to have a pretty relaxing weekend which means I don’t have five random things to tell you that I’m going to jam pack my weekend full of so instead I’m giving you five random things I’ve recently come to know (and a bonus fact. and a recipe. because I’m feeling generous today).

One.

Apparently, the Pumpkin Spice Latte almost wasn’t created because the test market gave it a lackluster rating. I can’t even believe this and while I know that if it wasn’t created that I wouldn’t be sad because I wouldn’t know any better but knowing that it almost wasn’t created makes me sad about the possibility of living without the delicious PSL.

Two.

Did you know that the term equinox comes from the Latin for “equal night.” I didn’t. It makes sense now that I’ve seen it written out (bonus fact: I took Latin in high school. I was terrible at it but some random stuff stuck with me about words and such).

Three.

Spaghetti squash might be my new favorite fall veggie. Sydney loves spaghetti so I made this in hopes that I could trick her. Too bad I’d never eaten it before so I didn’t know it wasn’t going to be like real spaghetti. It definitely did not trick my toddler in to thinking she was getting spaghetti but it was delicious and I’m ready to make some more.

Spaghetti squash.

Spaghetti squash.

Also these directions are really not that great. I bought this particular squash because they had directions on them and since I’d never made it I would definitely need directions. I ended up doing some googling because I was trying to convince Steve that I did, in fact, need to take out the middle/seed part like you would on a pumpkin… and that’s when I found different instructions.

  • Preheat oven to 400
  • cut squash in half (lengthwise) and remove stringy/seedy part in middle (like the guts from the pumpkin but don’t remove the flesh because that’s the part you eat)
  • season flesh with olive oil, salt and pepper
  • place face down in pan (I used a pan with sides but you could use a baking sheet)
  • Cook for about 40 minutes until squash is tender
  • Shred squash flesh with a fork in to a bowl
  • Season with salt/pepper/Parmesan cheese to taste
  • Eat and enjoy!

Four.

My mom managed to get us (her & I) tickets to take Sydney to see Frozen on Ice because a coworker of hers had them for his family but recently found out they’d be unable to go.

Frozen on Ice!!

Frozen on Ice!!

I am so excited. SO EXCITED. I loved the movie and I’ve heard really good things about Disney on Ice in general so I think it’ll be a good time. We’re not really sure if Sydney will do well or not… it’s kind of late (7pm…) but it should be full of excitement that we’re hoping it’ll keep her engaged. She tends to do well in later evening situations if she’s got something keeping her attention. Like if we’re sitting at home and she’s bored she’s full on toddler but if we’re busy doing something then she doesn’t seem to notice she’s tired (or that she should be tired). I think no matter how she does it’ll be a fun time for the 3 of us because who doesn’t love spending time with Nana?! No one. That’s who.

Five.

We’ve been eating apples a lot this season. I love apples and thankfully so does Sydney. Right now it seems to be her favorite healthy snack & she’ll ask for them all the time (though sometimes she is asking for the delicious Caramel Apple Oreo and I honestly can’t blame her because I did just refer to them as delicious so we can see where I stand on that one. And I don’t think a sweet treat hurts now and again so there). Anyway… we love apples in our house and my favorite is the Honeycrisp. They’re expensive so I only buy one or two a week and fill up on other kinds (any kinds really, there isn’t really a type of apple out there that I like so since the stores generally put different ones on sale each week we get a pretty good variety of apples in our house). I recently read this article about The Story Behind Honeycrisp Apples and why the prices of them are so expensive (because they’re like designer apples at $2.99 a pound in my stores). It was kind of an interesting read (for me, maybe you think that’s boring) but it was kind of neat to realize that just because you think something should be much cheaper than it is doesn’t mean it can be simply for what it needs to properly grow. And these are delicious apples that I don’t mind paying a little lot extra for if that’s really what it costs to grow them.

Although… I am curious about this SweeTango apple they mention in this article. I’m going to have to check the stores around here to see if I can get my hands on some. Either way – go get yourself some Honeycrisp apples. Because they’re delicious and if I’m not mistaken they have a short growing season so they’re likely going to be gone soon and we’ll be waiting until next year to get our hands on those yummy apples.

 

And with those five random things… I hope everyone has a beautiful weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

