Tasty Tuesday: White Chicken Chili.

Last weekend the coldness of fall rolled in and I was looking for an easy, warm dish to fill us up and keep us warm. The answer was simple. Chili. But… that’s my husbands dish. And when he makes chili… well my kitchen becomes a disaster zone and there’s a lot of clean up involved which is the complete opposite of easy that I was looking for so instead of raining that peril down on my myself I went with another favorite. White Chicken Chili. It’s delicious and much easier on my kitchen.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 2 garlic cloves minced (or 2 tbsp prepared minced garlic)
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 can black beans (rinsed)
  • 1 can corn (undrained)
  • 1 can Rotel (undrained)
  • 1 package ranch dressing mix
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 8oz package light cream cheese

 

Directions

Directions

Directions

  • In a large skillet heat oil and cook onions until transparent.
  • Add minced garlic to skillet and cook for approximately 1 minute
  • Set crockpot to low and  chicken breasts
  • Add onions and garlic once finished cooking
  • Add black beans, corn, rotel, all spices, and ranch dressing
  • Stir
  • Add cream cheese on top (I cut it up in to small pieces but you don’t have to because it will eventually melt together)
  • Cover and cook for 6 – 8 hours
  • Shred chicken before serving using 2 forks

(as a frame of reference, I put mine in around 11 and it cooked on low until about 4:30 when I shredded the chicken and added it back to the crock pot for about an hour before we ate)

Shred chicken.

Shred chicken.

I think it can be a bit spicy but not too spicy that you can’t actually taste its flavor. Pregnancy really messed up my ability to eat spice though because no one else that eats it thinks it’s really that spicy. If you’re opposed to really spicy chili you could adjust your chili powder/cayenne pepper to your liking.

I hope you enjoy this dish. If you make it let me know how you liked it!

ENJOY!

ENJOY!

(also, as an aside, I found this recipe on the internet somewhere more than a year ago… I can’t remember where because I printed it out on paper and there aren’t any identifying notes as to where the recipe came from on that paper so if you’ve seen this recipe please do let me know where so I can give appropriate credit.)

Leave a Reply

