Tasty Tuesday. Crockpot Lasagna.

I’ve never considered myself that great of a chef, but I have always really loved baking. I’ve never been that good at cooking. I can follow directions (a recipe) just fine, but even then sometimes the dish doesn’t turn out. Steven has done most of the cooking throughout our entire relationship. He likes it and I wasn’t any good so we had a good thing going. Lately though there has been a small shift. I’ve been more and more interested in cooking and with his baseball schedule this summer I had more of a need to do my own cooking. You know, if I wanted to eat. I just recently started experimenting… granted it was with something that is pretty easy to make and therefore could be considered difficult to screw up. I’m also all about ease and convenience – especially when it comes to making dinner because I don’t always have a lot of time so I either need something I can throw in the crockpot with minimal effort or something that can be thrown together relatively quickly in the evening. Today I’m sharing with you a dish I threw together for the crockpot. It was a weekend and we had some ground beef that I wanted to use and wanted something we hardly ever made. Lasagna. Why? Because it can be pretty time consuming. However, I recently discovered that you can cook lasagna in the crockpot without boiling the noodles. I was sold. But I couldn’t find anything on the internet that really did it for me so I threw things together that I knew went together and hoped for the best! It was delicious and super, super easy.

Ingredients.

Ingredients.

Ingredients.

  • 1lb. ground beef (or turkey or chicken if you’re looking for a healthier alternative)
  • 2 jars spaghetti sauce (25oz jars)
  • 16oz mozzarella cheese
  • 1 box lasagna noodles
  • 1/2 onion
  • minced garlic (1 tbsp of the jar or 1 clove fresh)
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Parmesan cheese

Directions

In a skillet saute your onions and garlic until transparent

Add ground beef, season with oregano and basil, cook until done

Onions, garlic, meat.

Onions, garlic, meat.

In a bowl combine all your Ricotta cheese with about 1 cup of mozzarella cheese, add basil and oregano to taste

Ricotta + mozzarella cheese mixture.

Ricotta + mozzarella cheese mixture.

Spoon a small layer of sauce in the bottom of your crockpot (keeps the noodles from sticking to the bottom)

Let the layering begin.

Let the layering begin.

Layer your ingredients – lasagna noodles, sauce, meat, cheese mixture + some mozzarella cheese.

Meat layer.

Meat layer.

Repeat until you run out of meat (about 3 meat layers).

Cheesey yum.

Cheesey yum.

Add 1 extra layer of noodles + sauce + cheese. I also added Parmesan cheese on top.

(so – noodles, sauce, meat, cheese, noodles, sauce, meat, cheese, noodles, sauce, meat, cheese, noodles, sauce, cheese)

Cook on low for 4-6 hours.

Enjoy!

It isn't pretty, but it's delicious.

It isn’t pretty, but it’s delicious.

Have you made crockpot lasagna? I’d love to hear your variations of this tasty dish!

Leave a Reply

