Thirty-two things.

I’m continuing my birthday week theme with thirty-two random things about me.

(some of these pictures only mildly go with these facts but I didn’t want to just go on-and-on-and-on without including some pictures because long blogs without pictures are boring!)

One. I’m a born and raised in Northern Virginia. I love this state because it has so much wonderful history, sites, scenery, and culture to offer that there’s always something to do if you’re looking for something to do.

Two. I never thought I would live my whole life in Virginia, but now I don’t think I would want to live anywhere else.

Three. I enjoy living in “way out here” but lately it’s just been hard living so far away from our family and we’re ready to get back. That’s what all the purging has been about… we’re gearing up to move.

Four. I have one brother and two sisters(in law).

Old friends turned sisters.

Old friends turned sisters.

Five. My husbands sister is married to one of my oldest friends. When they first got together I wasn’t quite excited about the arrangement, but I eventually got over that (& over being a bitch) and love having one of my best friends actually be my sister. It’s awesome.

Six. A few months ago my family discovered that my cousin had a child when he was much younger (the mom told him that it wasn’t his baby & never bothered him about the little boy). He found us this year and he’s 2 years younger than me and I’m kind of sad that we didn’t actually grow up together because he’s actually the closest (in age) cousin I have and I think that would have been really cool to have him growing up.

Seven. My oldest cousin on my dads side is 17 years older than I am & most of my cousins were teenagers when I was born. I’m closer in age to my 2nd cousins then I am to my 1st cousins on my dads side. I’m closer in age to the cousins on my mom’s side but my cousin Tracey is still 5 years older than me.

My baby & my oldest cousin.

My baby & my oldest cousin.

Eight. I ran track in high school (as a sprinter) and was a terrible distance runner but lately I’ve been running (for fun!) and have managed to get my run up to 3 miles. I want to run a 5k this spring & now my goal is to bring my time down a bit.

Nine. I never was a good distance runner because I was a long time smoker. I’ve tried several times to give it up and the only time I was actually successful with longevity was when I was pregnant. Until seven months ago when I gave it up and I really believe I have quit smoking for the last time. And I feel great about it.

Ten. I used to hate wine. It just wasn’t something I enjoyed. I would rather enjoy some fruity concoction any day of the week. Until I got a little bit older and I have found a new love for wine. White. Red. Fruity. Sweet. Dry. I love a good glass of wine.

Wine visits.

Wine visits.

Eleven. When I was little I wanted to be a teacher. I graduated college with a BA in English and had every intention of going back and getting my Master’s in Education… but I haven’t. At least not yet.

Twelve. I love so very much being a mother. Don’t get me wrong, it is so very hard, but oh my it is the best and most rewarding hard I have ever experienced.

I'm a mom.

I’m a mom.

Thirteen. When I was pregnant all I could ever think about was eating Oreos. They were my favorite (& daily) afternoon snack. Now? Sydney seems to have my same love for Oreos. All types of them (currently she’s obsessed with the fall Caramel Apple flavor and she has no reason not to love it because it’s delicious)

Baby bump & Oreos.

Baby bump & Oreos.

Fourteen. I enjoy crafting and making things but I never really make the time to do that.

Fifteen. I tried to teach myself to knit… it was a huge failure. I’m not ready to give up, but I haven’t picked up my knitting needles since my last (& first!) attempt so I’m not sure how successful I’ll end up being at that.

Sixteen. A couple years ago I asked for a sewing machine for my birthday because I was going to sew stuff… and I’ve been as successful at that as I was with knitting. I know how to sew so it’s not something I need to learn it’s more about making the time (& space) to actually get some sewing projects done.

Sixteen. My husband & I graduated from the same high school – 1 year apart – but we were quite the opposite of friends back then. Most of our mutual friends that knew us then were really surprised when we got together in our twenties.

Seventeen. I feel like I’m going to be purging my house forever. I also feel really ashamed at how much crap we have in our house that we really and truly do not need.

Eighteen. I’ve always really enjoyed working out and being fit but earlier this year I found Beachbody and fell in love with their exercises. From T25 to 21 Day Fix to PiYo I have found something for any mood I’m in. I feel so much better about myself and I am in so much better shape than I’ve ever been.

Nineteen. I didn’t really enjoy being pregnant – from the beginning I was constantly sick; I had awful heartburn; I became anemic so I never felt like I had any energy; and I just felt H-U-G-E by the end of the whole thing. But? I miss it. I never thought I would actually miss being pregnant but I really do.

I miss napping with my baby.

I miss napping with my baby.

Twenty. Sometimes I feel like an old lady. One night I slept in a ball or with my leg bent somehow and I woke up and basically couldn’t walk because SLEEPING hurt my knee. I hurt myself sleeping. It was really baffling and it made me feel very much like an old lady.

Twenty-one. I wish Friends was still on TV. It really was a great show and I have seen every episode probably a dozen or more times but they never get old and there’s always a Friends reference for any occasion.

Twenty-two. I’ve always wanted to write a book and I have an idea that I think is really good (because why would I think otherwise) but I think I’m finally going to buckle down and write the book I have always wanted to.

Twenty-three. I love reading but sometimes I’m way too tired to actually get any reading done at the end of the night. Sometimes I can fly through a book and sometimes it can take me forever to read me a book. It all depends on how I’m feeling.

Twenty-four. I love taking naps. Naps are basically the best thing ever. Sometimes I try to actually get stuff done when Sydney is napping… but most of the time I just nap right along with her. But not actually with her because then she wouldn’t nap and we would both be cranky and that is never a good thing.

I love this guy.

I love this guy.

Twenty-five. I was married at 25.

Twenty-six. I really hate winter and snow and being cold. I also don’t enjoy the super hot summers we have. I used to love spring for the newness of it all but I the last few years fall has really become my favorite season of all.

Twenty-eight. We bought our first home in 2010 which was the year we turned twenty-eight.

Twenty-nine. Growing up my mom was always 29 so I always had a hard time really remembering how old she was.

Mom & I.

Mom & I.

Thirty. I used to celebrate my birthday for an entire month. And then I had a November baby and well… now I’m celebrating birthday week.

My 29th Birthday

My 29th Birthday

Thirty-one. I hate it when my birthday falls on Thanksgiving day. I was born the Saturday after Thanksgiving and every couple years my birthday happens to be Thanksgiving. My birthday gets overlooked a lot because of it’s general closeness to Thanksgiving but it really gets overlooked when it falls on an actual holiday.

Thirty-two. I can’t even believe I came up with 32 random facts. It felt much harder than I think it should have.

 

Leave a Reply

