DIY: Christmas Wreath

I like to think of myself as a pretty crafty person – I like doing crafts and I’m relatively good at them. Sometimes they don’t all turn out quite the way I had envisioned, but most times I’m pretty proud with my results. Much like my fall wreath I wanted something cute, homemade, and Christmas-y to put on the front door to celebrate the season.

What you need.

Supplies.

Supplies.

  • Wreath (any size)
  • Yarn
  • Felt (2 colors, red for flowers and green for leaves)
  • Ribbon
  • White pearls

What to do.

Start by tying the string of yard at one point on the wreath.

Start the yarn

Start the yarn

And then settle in and get to wrapping your yarn around your wreath. It does take a little while but it will look better if you take your time instead of rushing through it.

Wrap the wreath.

Wrap the wreath.

Once your wreath is sufficiently wrapped with yarn the next step is making the flowers to put on the wreath.

Starting the flowers

Starting the flowers

I made a template and traced the flower petals on to the red. You will need two size petals for each flower (5 petals for each “row” of flowers – 2 “rows” for each flower). I made 4 sets of flowers 1 large size, 1 medium size, and 2 small sizes so I needed 40 petals. I put 2 leaves on each flower and finished them up with white pearls in the middle.

Finished flower.

Finished flower.

After you’ve made all your flowers arrange them on your wreath and hot glue them on. I like them on the side but you could arrange them however you think looks best. I added some ribbon to the top so I could hang it easily. If your wreath is thin enough you can probably get away without adding a ribbon if you would prefer that.

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

Have you made any wreaths? I’d love to see them!

Leave a Reply

