Oh Hey Friday.

LThis Friday feels very much needed this week. I never realize how hard coming back after two partial work weeks in a row can be until that first full week of work feels like it is never going to end. Except this week I had a work-from-home snow day thrown in there so maybe next week will feel longer than this week. I wish I hadn’t just thought of that haha. Oh well, moving on.

I can’t actually remember the last time I “resolved” to do something for a whole year. I do not believe I have that type of attention span. I do have some goals in mind that I’d like to work on this year. They’re nothing life changing, I guess, but maybe they will be.

One.

Write a book. I have always had this dream of writing a book – ever since I was younger, I’ve always wanted to be a novelist. I have so many notebooks filled with my random ramblings that I figure one day maybe I’ll actually do something with them. Part of the reason I blog is because I love writing and putting my thoughts out there on the internet for the world to read at will is helping me to conquer this fear I have of actually writing a book that people might actually read. I recently put pen to paper (literally) and started writing a book that has been an idea in my head for a few months now. I don’t know that I have any real expectations as far as it being the next best seller or anything like that but I would like to say, one day, that I wrote a book.

Book writing in progress.

Book writing in progress.

Two.

Move. We have been talking about and planning to move “next year” since we had Sydney. In 2012. The distance between our home and our jobs + family is about an hour. When we first moved out here we loved it – and it isn’t that we don’t love our home or the area but it is that our lives have changed and our situation has changed and living out here is no longer something we love as much. When we first brought up the subject, right after Sydney was born, I was an emotional, hormonal mess. I wasn’t ready to leave the house so we put it on the back burner. In the last few months, especially with my new job, it just feels so much more right for us to move. I’m ready now. Technically, I’ve been preparing for this with all my purging efforts but we do have a couple projects we need to complete before we can do anything with the house. We’re still not completely decided on whether or not we will rent or sell our house because a couple houses are up for sale, and have been, for a while and I’m not sure how long I want to sit on our house when I’m so ready to move (& so uninterested in keeping it “show” quality for too long – there’s the real truth folks. I think I’m too messy to sell our house haha.)

Three.

Learn something new. I’m not sure what yet. I think I want to learn how to crochet. I tried knitting and that was hard and I have heard crocheting is easier & easier means that I’ll actually do it because I get annoyed and frustrating when something is too hard for me to figure out and I tend to give up on those annoying and hard things so if crocheting is easier than annoying & hard knitting maybe I won’t give up on crocheting. I do have intentions of taking a class with a friend of mine so that is definitely “learning something new.” And maybe I’ll decide this is the year I go back to school (for what? no clue… that’s why I haven’t done it yet.) The possibilities are endless and I’m excited to pick up a new skill or craft.

Four.

Do more stuff. We live in an area with so many opportunities to do stuff – from exploring the Shenandoah Valley, to spending time at our favorite winery or exploring a new winery, to getting our butts in to DC and taking it in. There are festivals and fairs and other random stuff going on that we can experience but we generally do not. I want to get out and do stuff. I hate to be constantly on the go, but at the same time I get super bored when we don’t do anything but sit around the house. I want to take advantage of the stuff around us and go out and explore. Plus, I think it would be good for Sydney to get out and see more of the world around her. I understand that she’s still little but we don’t necessarily have to do stuff that she won’t be interested in (or well behaved for). I want to do stuff with her and without her. I don’t have anything specific in mind but let me tell you this year I’m doing stuff.

Five.

Day one of Insanity Max 30.

Day one of Insanity Max 30.

Stay active. Last year I found a love of Beachbody products – from Shakeology to a variety of the workouts they offer (I have tried, and loved, 21 Day Fix; T25; PiYo; and Insanity Max 30). I started running again for the first time since before I got pregnant. I got active and I feel great about myself. I really let my love for Oreos dominate my pregnancy with Sydney and then I let having a baby be my excuse for being as lazy as possible so even though I was able to shed my pregnancy weight I never quite got the motivation to actually be healthier. I have spent countless hours “getting strong” (which is what I am trying to convey to Sydney because I don’t have any “I’m fat and need to lose weight” feelings about myself so I don’t want her to grow up thinking her Mom was so in to working out to be skinny but rather I wanted to be strong… we’ll see how that works out haha). She likes to “work” with me and will bring me my shoes, my yoga mat, or my weights. Sometimes, if I’m doing something like yoga or sometime that just involves jumping, she’ll get in to it with me. I’m currently working my way through Insanity Max 30 and it’s hard. So hard. But a good kind of hard that makes me feel pretty awesome (& a lot like jelly) when I’m done. When I’m done with this program I want to work running back in to my routine (it’s cold so I prefer inside workouts where it is warm and I do not feel like I’m freezing to death.) I want to run a 5k this year (currently running around a 10 minute mile on average) so we’ll see how that works out because I do have a history of running injuries so the last thing I want to do is push my body to run a 5k when it really shouldn’t. So while running a 5k is something I really want to do it is also something I am perfectly fine with letting pass me by to keep myself healthy & my body happy.

So there you have it. Five random things I am hoping to focus on this year. I’m kind of excited to see where this year takes us. I know it’s taking us somewhere I just don’t know where that is yet.

Leave a Reply

