Fit Friday. Insanity Max: Month 1, Week 1.

Happy Friday everyone! I hope your week has been good to you. Mine was pretty good, but I’m definitely looking forward to the weekend!

Last week I talked a little bit about jumping on the Insanity Max 30 train and how much I loved it. This week I start talking about my progress and how I felt each week.

These are my before pictures. I realize that I’m skinny. I did not start this work-out routine to lose weight and I’ve been monitoring my caloric intake to make sure that I don’t actually lose any weight because for me this is not about my weight (I’m happy with that) but it is about being in the best shape of my life. This program will help you to lose weight if you have weight you want to lose and I’m sure that if I tried I could lose weight but that would be unhealthy so that’s why I don’t try to lose weight – I just try to lead a healthier lifestyle.

Before

Before

My first week was HARD. I knew Shaun T was killer but I thought I was in better shape than I was. I also don’t think I really had any idea what “maxing out” really meant until I started these workouts. Boy was I surprised but by the end of the week I was feeling better and I was able to hang on just a little longer each day.

Monday: Cardio Challenge.

Day 1.

Day 1.

I basically thought I was going to die pretty early on. And then I discovered that we were just doing the warm up. WHAT. I knew from that moment on Shaun T was basically going to kill me every day and I was going to love it. I maxed out on my first day at 6:10. I wasn’t disappointed in myself for not making it longer. I was a little surprised that I didn’t make it longer. But I wasn’t disappointed because I went as hard as I could for as long as I could and that is the point. I took my break and I joined up with the modifier to finish out the workout. I could have joined back in with the regular crowd, but I just felt like I needed to hang with the modifier to make it through the workout with good form which is important because the last thing I wanted to do was hurt myself on Day 1.

Tuesday: Tabata Power

Day 2

Day 2

Oh Tabata Power. Oh Plyo Push-ups. Those were my nemesis. If you haven’t done a plyo push up they are hard. It’s doing a regular push up with small jump in the push-up position. I managed to hang on and max out at 9:10 but I made my goal for this video to get through those push ups by the time this was all over. I felt a lot like my legs and arms were made of jelly after this workout was over but I felt good and that’s what mattered. I hung with the modifier on and off but I did try to do the full high-impact workout when I could and when I felt like I could keep the form.

Wednesday: Sweat Intervals

Day 3.

Day 3.

What you can’t see in that photo is all.the.sweat. This is not called “sweat intervals” for nothing because I definitely was dripping with sweat. This one got me a little bit after Tuesday’s workout (because so much leg workout on Tuesday) so I maxed out at 7:45 but I was really feeling like I wouldn’t be able to make it through the workout at all after Tuesday so I felt like I won. I was making some serious noise during this workout to push myself just a little farther, just a little harder, just a little more. Whatever works right?

Thursday: Tabata Power

Day 4.

Day 4.

Oh this one again. More plyo push ups. I almost made it… but I made it farther than I did last time so that was a good thing. I maxed out at 9:45 and spent less time with the modifier than I did before. All things pointing to progress and a better fitness level. But after this I felt like my arms were basically useless so it’s a good thing I was doing these workouts in the evening. I will say that the way this workout is set up (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off) really helps me push myself a little father because I tried to “max out” all the way through the workout. Meaning that after I would stop to take a break I’d get back in there and try to max out again. I kept telling myself it was only for 20 seconds and I could make it 20 seconds before we would do our “recovery move” and I think that helped to motivate me to do just a little bit more. Sometimes though, I just couldn’t go one more second and I had to take a break. It’s ok. It’s encouraged. That’s the point.

Friday: Friday Night Fight Round 1

Day 5.

Day 5.

The hardest workout of the week. Seriously. But such a good workout. I also discovered that I really need that first break for water because I got to a point that I felt like I had a desert in my mouth and that made it hard for me to concentrate on the workout. I maxed out at 8:45 and I think that had a lot to do with my level of concentration though I’m not sure I would have actually made it much father because I was really pushing myself. I would be lying if I said that sitting down after this workout was not so very welcomed. It was rough, but I felt a serious sense of accomplishment for making it through Week 1 and not dying.

Overall thoughts.

On Monday I was surprised that I wasn’t able to max out later in the workout than I had. I knew the workout was going to be hard, but I really thought I’d make it like half way. HA. HAHAHA. It actually took some time to max out at the half way mark and when I did finally get there I was so proud (but that comes later, we’ll get there…). By Thursday I was really sore and realizing that even though I was in shape before I wasn’t in the kind of shape this program was going to get me in. I think, for me, that provided me some motivation to keep going. Also knowing that this program was only Monday – Friday (or any 5 days in a row that work for you I guess) that meant I could enjoy my weekends without feeling guilty about not pushing play. And even though I wasn’t working out over the weekend I felt SO GOOD that I was motivated to keep moving and stay active without overdoing it (because those recovery days are crucial, for real.) I ended up doing a bunch of work around the house, and the constant up and down of the stairs really reinforced just how sore my legs were, but I felt good. I felt really good. And I looked forward to Monday when I would start it all over again.

Interested in learning more about Beachbody or taking the plunge and trying Insanity Max 30 yourself? Click here for my Coach’s page and I’ll be more than happy to give you advice and answer any questions you may have.

Want to dive in and try Insanity Max 30 for yourself? You can buy it here. It is definitely worth it.

5 thoughts on “Fit Friday. Insanity Max: Month 1, Week 1.

  1. Pingback: Fit Friday. Insanity Max: Month 1, Week 2. | baybee sugar

  2. Pingback: Fit Friday. Insanity Max: Month 1, Week 4. | baybee sugar

  3. Pingback: Fit Friday. Insanity Max: Month 2, Week 1. | baybee sugar

  4. Pingback: Fit Friday. Insanity Max: Month 2, Week 4. | baybee sugar

  5. Pingback: Fit Friday. Insanity Max: Final Thoughts. | baybee sugar

Leave a Reply

