Tasty Tuesday: Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Since I really started focusing on my fitness these days with my Insanity Max journey I have also decided that I needed some help with my meals in the kitchen. Also…Sydney has become somewhat of a picky eater but she has some staples that she loves so I’ve been trying to figure out ways to make those staples better for her while also being something she will actually eat.

This was not one of those meals…. but I did enjoy it myself so there’s that.

I turned this….

From cauliflower to pizza crust.

From cauliflower to pizza crust.

in to this…

yum pizza!

yum pizza!

with just a few simple steps and ingredients.

Ingredients.

For the crust…

  • Head of cauliflower
  • Italian blend cheese (about 1/2 cup)
  • parsley (about 1/4 cup)
  • garlic (about a tsp of minced or one clove)
  • salt and pepper (to taste)
  • 1 egg

For the pizza…

  • sauce
  • Italian blend cheese
  • Toppings (we went with turkey pepperoni & onions and yum!)

Directions.

  • Using your food processer, shred your head of cauliflower
  • Steam cauliflower for about 15 minutes
  • Drain and really squeeze out all excess water
  • Place cauliflower in fridge to thoroughly cool for about 15 minutes stirring occasionally
  • Once cooled, add cheese, parsley, salt, pepper and egg to the cauliflower and mix well
  • (we used a pizza stone but you could use a baking sheet lined with parchment paper if you don’t have a pizza stone)
  • Form cauliflower mixture on to pizza stone/baking sheet (the thinner the better)
  • Bake at 425 for about 15 minutes until it looks more like crust
  • Add toppings and bake for another 10-15 minutes depending on how done you like your pizza
  • Serve and enjoy!

My thoughts.

I really enjoyed this but I need to make it again to really perfect it. I’ve added in here the things I am going to do next time because after reading some reviews I think that may be why my crust wasn’t quite as “crusty” as I was hoping. It had a really good taste though, which is why I’m willing to give this another shot and to share it with you. Apparently, it is really important to squeeze out the excess water. I thought about that but didn’t end up doing it and I really wish I had because it was really moist and all that moisture didn’t have time to cook out to allow it to get that crusty feel. Also, I think my crust was a little on the thick side so I think a thinner crust would have also been a good idea to help get it to be crispier than it was. Overall though it was really good and like I said I’ll be trying this again. Sydney took maybe a bite – she said yum, but she only wanted pepperoni so I’m not sure if it had a weird texture for her or if she really just didn’t like it. I’m curious to see if I can get this to be more like crust if she’ll eat it though.

If you make it (or have made it) I’d love to know your secrets or thoughts!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

