Tasty Tuesday: Brown Sugar Balsamic Pork Roast

I’ve talked about my love of the crockpot and shared many crockpot recipes with you so it should not come as any surprise that this one is also a crockpot recipe! I recently got a new programmable crockpot and immediately set out to find a new, yummy recipe to try out in it.

I stumbled upon this Brown Sugar Balsamic Glazed Pork Roast recipe and it looked amazing. Since I basically had all the ingredients on hand it was a no-brainer that this was the recipe I should be making for dinner.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon ground sage
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 pounds pork tenderloin
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4c up balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce

Directions

  1. Mix together the seasonings : sage, salt, pepper and garlic, and rub over the tenderloin.
  2. Place 1/2 cup water in slow cooker, followed by the tenderloin, and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.
  3. 1 hour before the roast is finished, mix together the ingredients for the glaze in a small saucepan : brown sugar, cornstarch, balsamic vinegar, water, and soy sauce.
  4. Heat over medium and stir until mixture thickens, about 4 minutes.
  5. Brush roast with glaze 2 or 3 times during the last hour of cooking. (For a more caramelized crust, remove from crock pot and place on aluminum lined sheet pan, glaze, and set under broiler for 1 to 2 minutes, until bubbly and caramelized. Repeat 2 to 3 more times until desired crust is achieved.)
  6. Serve with remaining glaze on the side.
Eat and enjoy!

Eat and enjoy!

Like I said – super simple AND delicious. It had a really good crust on it from cooking the tenderloin in the crockpot for so long. Once I put the tenderloin in the crockpot I didn’t touch it until it was time to glaze it which I think helps with the crust and since there is really no liquid except for a little water in the crockpot you don’t have to worry about turning it to make sure that every inch of it is covered in the sauce it is cooking in. When it came to the glaze, I also didn’t turn the tenderloin. I just glazed the top and sides as much as I could and often because I wanted to make sure it had plenty of that glaze cooked in. There was plenty of the glaze left over to drizzle on top before serving (which is highly recommended). I found the pork to be surprisingly juicy for being cooked for 6 hours without any liquid except for the glaze at the last hour. Overall, this dish was a huge success. My mouth is watering just thinking about this recipe and now I’m trying to decide when I should go ahead and make it again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

