Uncork The Bloom

It is my favorite time of year – spring time. And with each new spring we have this wonderful festival in our town to celebrate the coming of spring and the traditional pink and white apple blossoms.

Apple Blossom began in 1924 and it has come a long way from the one day festival it began as. If you’re interested in the full history of the festival you can check that out here on the official Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival page. Today the festival begins with a wine festival, brings us a carnival and various events during the week, and ends with the weekend in the park and two parades! It is a really fun time and if you’re ever looking for something fun and different to do in the Valley and you’re here at the end of April/beginning of May then you should definitely check this out. There is something for everyone and a little bit of everything.

Enjoying live music and good wine!

Enjoying live music and good wine!

The first weekend and probably my favorite thing (because duh) is the Uncork the Bloom wine festival that really kicks off the weeks festivities. There are maybe a dozen or more wineries that come out for the two day wine festival. It’s a really fun festival with live music playing on three separate stages (since there are three separate areas set up with wine/food/vendors set up). It really spreads out the crowds which makes it easier to navigate the festival.

Wine tasting

Wine tasting

I ended up going both days this year but only for a couple hours each day so it isn’t like I went to each winery both days because that would be crazy and I’m no longer that kind of crazy person. The first year I attended the goal was to try as much wine as possible because 20’s and now… well, I wanted to taste some new wines because I like wine and not because I wanted to be hammered… my how life changes haha!

Enjoying some local Virginia wine

Enjoying some local Virginia wine

The best part about this festival, for me, is that they feature all Virginia wine. If you have never experienced Virginia wine then you are really missing out on some really good wine. I encourage you to branch out and leave California behind and head to Virginia to experience all the wine we have to offer.

I’m so excited to take Sydney to the carnival this week and for her to experience her 1st parades this weekend. I’m sure it is going to be a different experience with her in tow, but I’m looking forward to experiencing this whole festival through her eyes because I think that is going to be awesome.

If you’re local here have you ever been to Apple Blossom? Do you have any fun festivals like this in your area? I’d love to hear about them!

2 thoughts on “Uncork The Bloom

  1. Pingback: I couldn’t live without | baybee sugar

  2. Pingback: Get Your Bloom On | baybee sugar

Leave a Reply

