Five Books to Love.

Hello there friends I hope you’re having a wonderful Wednesday and recovering well from any Cinco de Mayo festivities you may have indulged in 😉

I’m back today linking up with Belinda for the Blog Everyday in May link up. I’ve found that this has helped me to really “think outside the box” when it comes to what portions of my life and my story I can share. It’s definitely helped get the writing gears turning and I’m really enjoying it! Are you following along? Let me know because I’d love to read what you have to say.

Today I’m talking about 5 Books I love. I have to confess that I love a lot of books so it was pretty hard to come up with only 5 books which is why I’m taking about the 5 books I’ve recently finished because I do really love them and think you should read them. I’m a pretty avid reader although sometimes it does take me longer to make it through a book than others. Some books are slower and some are quicker reads. Sometimes I just don’t have much time to dive in to a book. But I always enjoy getting lost in someone else’s story.

One.

My favorite series I’ve ever ready has to be the Stephanie Plum Series by Janet Evanovich. There are 21 books (number 22 comes out in November!! Just in time for my birthday!). They are super quick reads that will keep you in some suspense but also keep you laughing. Stephanie Plum is a terrible Bond Enforcement Agent that always ends up in the middle of some crazy crime investigation in which she usually makes things worse before they get better. I read the entire series from One to Twenty-One without even taking the time to read anything in between because I was so hooked.

Two.

David Baldacci Zero Day. I literally just finished this book last night. I stayed up way too late finishing it because it was so good and I didn’t want to put it down because I needed to know what was going to happen but at the same time it was so good that I didn’t want it to end. This book follows John Puller, a combat veteran, on a murder investigation in a small, coal mining West Virginia town. It takes some twists and turns along the way and Puller and Sam Cole, the local cop, make some terrifying discoveries and turn to some unexpected sources for assistance to solve this unusual murder.

Three.

I’m sure you know who The Bloggess is. If you don’t you definitely need to hop on over to her blog because she is hysterical. She also wrote a tremendously funny “mostly true memoir” about her life growing up in a small town in Texas. It is amazing and a really quick read. You should read the description on her blog because it is way better than I could describe but you should totally read this book. She also has another one coming out called Furiously Happy and I’m really excited to read that because I was so sad when this one was over!

Four.

Are you there, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea. Chelsea Handler is hysterical both in real life (ok…on TV…I don’t know her in real life) and in her book. This book is a little all over the place in how she tells her story and it ends a little abruptly (it left me wanting more for sure) but it’s really, really funny and worth the read. It’s another quick read and I can imagine going back to this book if I’m spending the day on the beach or by the pool.

Five.

I love James Patterson and have read many (many!) of his books. This is part of his Alex Cross series which is probably my favorite series of his. Alex Cross is based in DC which appeals to me since it is relatively local to where I am so I recognize a lot of the places he talks about in his books. These two books are directly connected as in Hope to Die picks up immediately where Cross My Heart leaves off. You will definitely want to have them both on hand (or in your Kindle Library) when you start because you are going to want to start Hope to Die as soon as you finish Cross My HeartCross My Heart set a jaw-dropping story in motion. Hope to Die propels Alex Cross’s greatest challenge to its astonishing finish.

What books have you read recently? I just started the next John Puller book but I expect to be finished with that one pretty quickly just like I did the first so I’ll be looking forward to another great book to dive in to.

 

Found Love. Now What?
Leave a Reply

