Mother’s Day 2015

I love being her Mom

I love being her Mom

Mother’s Day was a little different this year, in the way that life is a little different these days, but it was still a nice day that I got to spend with my Mom and my baby girl.

Three generations.

Three generations.

The woman that gave me life and the little girl that made me a Mama. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

I got to enjoy a relaxing morning with my sweet girl. We enjoyed our coffee together (hers was water) and just generally had a lazy morning. We weren’t in a rush to go anywhere or do anything. It was nice to spend extra time cuddling and just being with her.

Morning coffee.

Morning coffee.

Unexpectedly, she got me a little gift (with help from Daddy) and she was so excited about my gift that she just had to help me open it. I enjoy opening my own gifts, but I enjoy so much more watching Sydney be so excited about “prizes” (surprises which is what she thinks gifts are) that it is just too cute to not let her open my gifts.

prizes!

prizes!

My parents came over to spend a little time with us this year. There was no big to-do and that was really quite nice. We went out to a nice lunch and then we went over to the park where the pond and ducks are that Sydney loves and we walked around the pond and spent time playing outside.

Walking around the pond

Walking around the pond

Sydney enjoyed very much playing with Nana. It’s funny to watch my mom play with my daughter. Well, not funny I guess but more in the way that when I watch the two of them play together as if no one is watching I know exactly what she looked like playing with me when I was little and exactly what I look like playing with Sydney. I really love playing with Sydney and I really don’t care how silly I look doing it because the sillier I act the more she laughs and that laugh is my favorite sound in the entire world. I’d do anything to get her to laugh.

Playing with Nana.

Playing with Nana.

I can remember a time when I was so afraid of what other people (strangers even) thought of me and what I looked like…. but now? I could not care less. I really love the version of myself when I’m with Sydney. She makes me the best version of myself I could ever hope to be. I love being a Mom but I feel so lucky that I get to be Sydney’s mom. I wouldn’t change her, or my life as her Mom, for anything in this world.

I hope all the Mama’s out there had a wonderful Mother’s Day this year!

Leave a Reply

