Tasting Room.

Let’s talk about my love of wine. I really enjoy going to wine events and wine tastings. The more you learn about wine the more you realize how complex it is and the more you can appreciate it.

A few months ago I stumbled upon this amazing website that will send you a sampler pack so you can do a wine tasting in the comfort of your own home.

You read that right. A wine tasting in the comfort of your own home. Not only that, once you do your tasting and enter in all your results (based on what you liked, didn’t like, tasted, didn’t taste, etc.) they will build you a customized wine profile and based on that profile they will set you up with customized wine shipments. All on this one amazing website (of which I am not being compensated in any way to review I just really enjoyed this and wanted to share it.)

Tasting Room Tasting Kit

Tasting Room Tasting Kit

The Tasting Room is  a personalized wine club website that starts with an interactive wine tasting to determine just what kind of wine you like based on your tastes instead of your preconceived notions of what you think you like. I was surprised at the profile created for me based on my tastes because I thought I would have liked something different. This really has allowed me to expand my wine pallet for sure.

Red Wines.

Red Wines.

I received four red wines to try and I really enjoyed them a lot more than I thought I would. In my tasting kit I got a The Rouge Wave (a Pinot Noir), Grand Lacaze (a Red Bordeaux Wine), The Stub Old Vine Zinfandel Lodi, and Paso Robles Cabernet Sav.

The Pinot Noir was a favorite of mine which was really surprising to me because I would have never considered a Noir because I would have originally thought it would be too dry. This one smelled kind of woody, but had a softer, spicy taste to it with strong hints of fruit. Very pleasant wine. The Cab Sav is my favorite red wine so it was no surprise that I really enjoyed the one they sent me. It was smooth with a spicy bite to it and had a lot of jammy, rich dark fruit tastes to it. Very, very good.

The Red Bordeaux wine was ok, it was bold with lots of black cherry tastes to it but it was kind of dry. The Zinfandel was a really full bodied wine with a bold taste of tobacco. It wasn’t overwhelming, but it was distinctive. I didn’t like that one at all.

White Wines

White Wines

I only received two white wines in my tasting kit. The first one was Ostra Lodi (a Sav Blanc) and then Loophole Monterey Chardonnay. Typically I do not prefer a dry white wine. I don’t really care for dry wine in general, but these weren’t too bad.

The Ostra Lodi had an oaky, dry finish but an overall crisp taste. It was also kind of buttery which is a weird thing to say about wine I guess. The Loophole Monterey Chardonnay was dry with a sweet, slight fruity taste.

This was a really fun experience and I’m really glad that I did it because I learned a lot about my wine profile – a lot more than I even realized I could learn about something like that. If you’re in to wine and looking for something a little different then I highly recommend checking out the Tasting Room.

Leave a Reply

