Summer Bucket List

I’m itching to get out of the house and be outside this summer. Sydney is at a fun age and she is also at an age that she has so much energy and she needs to do something with it. Since I’m a working parent I want to capitalize on our weekend time but I don’t want to pack so much stuff in to our weekends that there isn’t any time to actually relax and enjoy our summer time together. With that in mind I put together the beginnings of a summer bucket list. Some things we’ll definitely do and some things I’m not sure if we’ll actually get around to doing but I don’t want to get to Labor Day and realize we’ve done nothing but coop ourselves up in the house all summer long. That doesn’t sound like a very enjoyable summer at all.

Museums.

Smithsonian Museums

Smithsonian Museums

One of the many things I really want to do this summer and for many summers to come is explore the museums we have at our disposal. We are fortunate enough to live so close to DC that we are free to explore all the wonderful Smithsonian Museums it has to offer. However, that does mean we generally do not explore it at all because it’s so close we can do it whenever we want. I’m in favor of visiting the American History Museum because it is my favorite and the Natural History Museum because it’s really cool but there are plenty of other museums we can visit too. We’ll see how many we get to, but I’m hoping we get to a couple for sure.

The Zoo.

The zoo!

The zoo!

I know this is one of the Smithsonian Museums, but this is something I really think Sydney will enjoy so it get its own spot on the “to do” list. There are also a couple other places that involve animals that I think Sydney will enjoy like the Leesburg Animal Park and Wilson’s Wild Animal Park so even if we don’t get to the National Zoo I’m hoping we can manage to squeeze in a trip to see some animals somewhere.

Great Falls National Park

Great Falls

Great Falls

Great Falls is a beautiful place and not that I think Sydney will enjoy the scenery for all it has to offer it is a large place she can run off all the energy she has.

Farm Life.

Great Country Farms

Great Country Farms

We have a ton of farms around here and many of them offer a variety of activities for kids, some family festivals, and u-pick fruit throughout the season. Great Country Farms is one of the many farms I enjoy visiting and I know we’ll end up at one of our local farms this summer.

Luray Caverns

Luray Caverns

Luray Caverns

This is one I’m not entirely sure we’ll actually get around to doing this summer but I’m not counting it out just yet. I have many fond memories of visiting Luray Caverns with my family as a kid and there is so much to do down there that I think we could make a fun day out of it. There’s obviously the caverns as a main attraction but there are also two museums nearby and Toy Town Junction which sounds awesome and I think I might enjoy that a little more than Sydney because it’s a collection of toys she won’t actually be able to play with. There is a garden maze that she could run her way through and there is a zoo nearby that is a rescue zoo with about 250 retired zoo animals and unwanted and abused animals. I’d like to go there just to be able to support and learn about the animals.

Parks.

fun time at the park

fun time at the park

There are so many awesome parks near us that we’ll definitely be heading to plenty of these. Local parks are especially nice when I’ve been cooped up at the office all day and just want to get outside and just enjoy being outside and with my girl.

What are some things on your summer bucket list? I’d love to hear about some of the fun things you plan to do this summer!

2 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List

  1. Pingback: Coffee Talk | baybee sugar

  2. Pingback: Lions! Tigers! Bears! OH MY! | baybee sugar

Leave a Reply

