Three Day Weekends

Me and my girl

Me and my girl

Three day weekends are the very best. There’s just enough time to get stuff done, be busy, and also relax. There’s just enough time to really enjoy being at home with your family but not quite enough time for them to make you crazy. Three day weekends are my very favorite kind of weekend especially when I get to spend so much quality time with my girl.

Pool time.

Pool time.

This weekend we made the absolute most of all three of our days at home. We spent plenty of time playing at the pool. One morning we went and there was no one else there so we had the whole place to ourselves. It was amazing. Sydney is really enjoying all the time we’re able to spend at the pool and I’m enjoying spending so much time outside but also in the water so that it doesn’t feel so hot.

Rockin' Independence Eve

Rockin’ Independence Eve

Friday afternoon we headed to the downtown mall area near our house for their Rockin’ Independence Eve party. There was music and food and plenty of entertainment for the kiddies. Sydney had a blast just running around playing with her flags. We even indulged in some fried oreos because she was being so good (& who doesn’t love a good order of fried oreos!)

Fireworks!

Fireworks!

Once it started to get dark we made our way over to watch the fireworks display. We found a nice grassy spot to sit and we ended up being right next to where they were setting off the fireworks. I love watching fireworks. I always forget how much I enjoy them until I see them on the 4th and then I remember that they are beautiful and amazing.

watching the fireworks

watching the fireworks

Sydney was a little less than thrilled by the noise the fireworks made and she (so very sadly) kept asking for them to be all done. I was able to reassure her that it was just loud noise and once she believed me she seemed to enjoy watching them light up the sky. We didn’t make it out to any other fireworks display this weekend because of the weather, which was a little disappointing, but at the same time I’m pretty sure she wouldn’t have been too excited about the noise again.

You look like the 4th of July

You look like the 4th of July

Saturday we enjoyed a nice long nap together because we were preparing for staying up late for more fireworks… but we woke up to a huge storm and that pretty much put the kibosh on sitting in the grass to watch any fireworks that night. Oh well… we filled our time with a nice long walk and then we went to visit Uncle George at work and bring the lifeguards dinner.

Playing in the pool

Playing in the pool

Sydney really enjoyed another trip to the pool. I didn’t really plan for swimming this trip, but Sydney didn’t seem to mind that she was playing in her dress. Whatever makes you happy, kid. Whatever makes you happy.

My little daredevil.

My little daredevil.

Sunday we enjoyed a very relaxing day and another trip to the pool (of course!) in the afternoon. After a couple hours of pool time it looked like it might rain a bit so we headed home to rest a bit (because there are few naps around these parts lately…). After it decided it wasn’t actually going to storm we headed over to the park where Sydney showed off her daredevil side! I wasn’t quite as excited about this as she was, because she’s pretty clumsy, but she did a good job and her excitement was enough to calm my fears. I only let her do it once though because that was all my heart could take.

Weeee!!!

Weeee!!!

We ended our weekend happy, tired girls. I was pretty sad to head back to work yesterday because I really enjoyed spending so much time with her… but it was nice to be back in the office where no one was throwing fits (because two-and-a-half is a very hard age sometimes).

I hope you all enjoyed your weekend as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

