Tasty Tuesday: Taco Lasagna

It’s been a while since I’ve had a recipe to share around here. It isn’t that I haven’t been cooking, but I tend to get in to habits of cooking the same stuff over and over again because I know those recipes, I know they are good, and I know they go over well. I go through spurts of trying out new things especially when I’m bored of eating the same old stuff over and over again.

Recently I was in the mood for tacos… but not tacos. Not enchiladas. Not the same. Something different. And then I thought – taco lasagna. That is what I want. It’s going to give me the taco flavor I want without all the hassle of tacos. Because sometimes I’m also lazy when it comes to eating and I don’t want to put much work in to my food.

I did some google searches to see if anything along the lines of what I was looking for came up, but I didn’t find anything I really wanted so I made up my own recipe because it really isn’t that hard in this case.

Ingredients.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Basic taco ingredients. Except also some lasagna ingredients. Because, duh.

What you’ll need…

  • 1lb of meat
  • Salsa
  • Shredded cheese
  • Ricoctta cheese (+ 1 egg)
  • Taco seasoning
  • Scallions
  • Onion
  • Green chilies
  • Lasagna noodles

Notes: I used ground beef because I had it on hand, but I typically prefer ground chicken. It’s healthier and I think it tastes better. You can use whatever you prefer. Also, I couldn’t find the no bake lasagna noodles so I had to cook them before using them which was kind of annoying to me so if you’re not in the mood to wait for a big pot of water to boil and then wait for the noodles to cook I suggest getting the no bake kind.

Directions

  • Cook lasagna noodles according to the package
  • Saute onions and green chilies in a pan until translucent
  • Cook meat until done and then season with taco season according to the package directions
  • Mix ricotta cheese and 1 egg
  • Layer your ingredients in to lasagna
  • Bake at 350 for approximately 20 minutes (until cheese is melty and everything is all melted together)

Once all your “layers” are done you will start constructing your taco lasagna like you would regular lasagna. Layer of noodles, layer of ricotta mixture, layer of meat, layer of salsa + cheese… and repeat until you’re done with your ingredients and top the lasagna with shredded cheese and some salsa.

Taco Lasagna

Taco Lasagna

Variations. You could add some refried or black beans to your meat mixture and that would give it a good taste. I actually wish I had done that and thought I had beans in the pantry but was sadly mistaken when I went to make this and realized there were no beans. You could also use some queso cheese inside the lasagna instead of shredded cheese if you wanted. The possibilities are endless and all delicious!

If you end up trying this out please let me know what kind of variations you used (if any!) and how you enjoyed it.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Taco Lasagna

Leave a Reply

