Lions! Tigers! Bears! OH MY!

National Zoo.

National Zoo.

Recently Sydney and I woke up early one Sunday morning and we hit the road for the National Zoo and I was excited to check something fun off my Summer Bucket List. I was pretty impressed with my ability to navigate the Metro with a stroller and a curious toddler that doesn’t enjoy sitting still for anything. Also, I had no idea where the Zoo was when we got off the Metro in the city so I walked about 2 blocks past it and had to turn around and go back. The whole time Sydney was asking when we would be at the zoom. Eventually I figured out that I was on the wrong side of the street so that’s why I didn’t see the GIANT sign that said Zoo. It’s all good. We made it and it made for an adventure which is always fun.

She asked me to take her picture in front of this.

She asked me to take her picture in front of this.

We got up pretty early that morning and that helped us beat a bit of the afternoon heat that day. I packed us a bag of snacks, some lunch, and plenty of water and made sure we were covered in sun screen (with some extra in my bag for later!) and we hit the road.

First Metro ride!

First Metro ride!

First stop in the day of first for Miss Sydney was a trip on the new Silver Line. The whole trip took about an hour and we had to change trains but it was fine – Sydney was well behaved and enjoyed herself and it isn’t like I would actually drive a car in to DC so it was basically the only way we were getting there.

She asked me to take her picture in front of this.

Me and my girl

If you have never been to the National Zoo know this – it is huge. Miles and miles of walking to and from various animal habitats. It is also quite hilly… at first you don’t realize it, because you are going down hill, but then you decide your day is over and you go to the main exit to get back to the Metro and BAM! It’s a hill. And a pretty big one. So keep that in mind. It’s been so long since I’ve been to the Zoo that I completely forgot about that big hill.

Checking out the animals

Checking out the animals

I knew going in to this we’d cover a small portion of the Zoo. There is no way to reasonably do it in one day and on a day as hot as this I knew some of the animals probably would be hiding from the heat. We tried to visit most of the inside exhibits to give us a break from the heat and see a fair amount of animals.

Animals!

Animals!

We saw so many animals all day though that we definitely made the most of our visit. Sydney really enjoyed seeing the animals too – until I got her ice cream and then she cared only about the ice cream and zero about the animals.

Animal statue pictures!

Animal statue pictures!

These are some of my favorite pictures. For one, I am fairly certain I have some of me and these animals somewhere in my parents house… one day I’ll probably find them and maybe I’ll share them if I can remember. For two, she was SO excited to sit on that bear – she called it “nice bear” and kept petting it. When I asked her to stand with the panda she made faces which made me laugh. And by the time we got to the Eagle she was basically over my nonsense.

Overall, we had a really fun day! I’m so glad that we had the opportunity to go and that I took that opportunity!! I’m also excited to go back… but maybe in the fall when it isn’t quite as hot haha!

One thought on “Lions! Tigers! Bears! OH MY!

  1. Pingback: Wilsons Wild Animal Park | baybee sugar

Leave a Reply

